Front-Page-Banner-Feb-16-2012

Home

SLATE Conference 20012

About the Archives

News and Events

Events Calendar

Chairman's Message

Assets & Exhibits

Membership

Ways to Donate

Gift Shop

Policies

Curriculum

Research

Newsletter

Contact & Locate Us

Bell Logo

Schoolhouse Contents

Photo & History Tour

Those Who Helped

Donating Resources

Home

 

The Victoria Schoolhouse

 


                                        old View of schoolhouse                                             new view of schoolhouse

                                          Schoolhouse from 2004                                                            Schoolhouse from 2011 

The Victoria Schoolhouse

The Victoria Schoolhouse was built in 1904 as a replacement for a brick Schoolhouse on the same site that had been deemed unsafe.  The Schoolhouse was situated on 1/2 acres of land, on the north east corner of lot 88, second concession of Ameliasburgh.  The community, originally known as Bush’s, was renamed after the Victoria Church (now demolished) that had been constructed in the year of Queen Victoria's Jubilee.   Soon the Schoolhouse became known as the Victoria School. Victoria Schoolhouse was closed in June 1966 along with many of the one-room schoolhouses in the County.  Since Victoria School was located on the corner of the Montgomery farm, Harmon Montgomery purchased it, and over the years used it as a storage building for apple boxes and bales of hay.

In 2003, the Montgomery family donated their Victoria Schoolhouse in Harmon's memory to the Quinte Educational Museum and Archives to be used as the new permanent home for its extensive collection. "It seems like the right thing for our family to do" said Mrs. Montgomery at the time.

The Museum successfully reached an agreement with the Corporation for the County of Prince Edward to move the Schoolhouse, Woodshed and Privy the 5.5 km to the site of the Ameliasburgh Historical Museum where these three buildings have become a testament to the days of the one-room schoolhouse.

 

 

 

 

 

 

'Preserving Educational History for Future Generations'

© 2013 Quinte Educational Museum and Archives, Inc.